Battle of the Sexes 23rd Jan - 3rd Feb 2022       #gibchess


Top Players in Gibraltar



As it’s the first day of a new month, we also make our first move in announcing our top ten players, five men and five women, who will be here on the Rock in January, 2019.

Over the coming seven weeks this website will include news stories which we hope will capture some of the excitement of the build-up to the 17th edition of the Festival. Please keep a look out for the latest reports and updates.





On behalf of the whole Gibchess 2019 team, whether you come here as a participant or follow the event online, we trust you enjoy the Festival from start to finish...and keep us in mind for 2020!

Stuart Conquest (Festival Director). #gibchess 



Photos: Maxime Vachier-Lagrave and Wesley So - Lennart Ootes, Humpy Koneru - WWCC 2012, Wenjun Ju, Levon Aronian, Yangyi Yu, Hikaru Nakamura, Anna Muzychuk, Kateryna Lagno and Mariya Muzychuk Gibraltar Chess.