20th - 31st January 2020       #gibchess

Closing Ceremony 2019 Image

Closing Ceremony 2019

Feb 01, 2019

  • The 2019 Gibraltar Masters Champion and winner of the £25,000 top prize is Vladislav Artemiev from Russia
  • The top women’s prize of £15,000 was won by Tan Zhongyi from China
  • Second prize went to Murali Kathikeyan from India
  • The Best Game prize was jointly won by Alejandro Ramirez (USA) and Gawain Jones from (ENG)

Winner Vladislav Artemiev spoke of how strong the competition was in the Gibraltar Masters and how he had felt at home and hoped to return next year to defend his title.

Gibraltar Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Joseph Garcia

“It is a pleasure to be here again and to be asked to say a few words on behalf of the Government of Gibraltar. Let me say that the Government is very proud of the annual chess festival. It has become one of the main events on the Gibraltar calendar and I would like to thank all those who have been involved in the organising of this event over the last few years.

I also want to thank the participants because those taking part in the different tournaments are the ones that make it and this year there have been 400 players from 62 countries taking part.

Read More ...